Personalness

Getting Married Feels Like Easter

Posting has been less regular than I planned because last Friday we got married and, let me tell you, it’s a hassle.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s worth it, but there is much to organize that I didn’t account for because in general we wanted something very, very simple. This basically meant no all-night wedding with dancing and ridiculous fun-and-games – and boy, were we glad we skipped that because I’ve no idea how people manage not to drop from exhaustion around midnight. We only had reception dinner for family, which was fine except in the middle I found myself not hungry at all and generally worn. But it passed and the rest went just fine.

On the next evening we organized a small get-together for friends in a club where I used to go dancing with a friend (hello, J) all the time when we were students. And dance we did, most of us, quite a lot, except I had remembered the place as quieter away from the dancing floor. Unfortunately, our tables were just above the floor, which meant a good vantage point for those who wanted vantaging but very poor conversation conditions. You could only talk with one person at a time, which resulted in many fragmented conversations and I do wish there’d been at least five of me to be able to spend more time with everyone.

Saturday was frankly a little stressful for that but Friday, when the actual ceremony took place, less so than I’d expected. Even though we had to work like crazy the week before wedding and didn’t have time to concentrate on the details, everything worked out sufficiently well. When people asked me if I was stressed, I actually wondered why I would be. And I only had one bridezilla attack just before leaving for church when I decided my dress didn’t fit as it should but, mercifully, there was no time to dwell on that. I feel sorry for those who overplan their wedding though, because I can’t even begin to imagine how stressful that must be. Had I bothered about the color of napkins during dinner and the flower arrangement in the church, I would probably be curing a migraine up till now. But going with the flow as we did, we found the chocolate-brown napkins just fine and didn’t mind when the priest knocked over the flowers and spilled the water all over the floor during the ceremony. As he did.

Even though I don’t usually do that, I’ll post you a picture or two once I get them from the photographer, whenever that might be, because that will make more sense than describing my dress – and nothing in the whole affair caused so much trouble as the dress, so it’ll be worth mentioning.

So far my vast experience of married life is not so different from my experience of (old) maidenly life – which is to say, it’s been really good. I’m really grateful to everyone who came to wish us well and made the whole thing grander. And the best idea we had was to ask for bookstore vouchers instead of flowers. Today our first package of books came and it actually feels like Christmas to get so many books at once.

Standard

Comments?

